Archived Stock - This item is no longer available
The London and Greenwich Viaduct and Railway
Published by the philanthropic, Society for the Diffusion of Useful Knowledge, for their Penny magazine,
a fascinating original woodcut from 1836 showing the newly completed railway viaduct by St. James Church Bermondsey. Framed in dark stained wood with a gold slip
The London and Greenwich Railway was opened between 1836 and 1838. It was the first steam railway in London and specifically built for passenger traffic.
When the viaduct was first created it composed of 851 arches plus 27 bridges. All the arches were 20 feet wide, centre to centre, and 22 feet high, and were surmounted by a four foot parapet. This carried the two tracks as high as the average house height of the time. At 3.4 miles long it remains today the longest railway viaduct in Britain.