Search Lassco
Latest Arrivals
Also See
Contact Account

Archived Stock - This item is no longer available

A George III cast iron decorative panel,

one of a series, c.1806, removed from The Asylum for Deaf and Dumb Children, Old Kent Road (dem. 1868).

each panel cast with repeating pierced anthemia, old paint,
Dimensions: 177cm (69¾") High, 30cm (11¾") Wide
Stock code: 42720
This series of bold and highly decorative cast iron panels formed the sides to Georgian gate posts of The Asylum for Deaf & Dumb Children, Old Kent Road. The Asylum was built to the designs of Thomas Swithin c.1806. The railings survived the demolition of the Asylum in 1806 and were a notable landmark on the Old Kent Road until 1970. Click on the LASSCO Blog link to see more about their history.

About Lassco

Established in London's East End, LASSCO has dealt in reclamation and salvage since 1979. Bridging the gap between the demolition trade and architectural design, we connect customers with rescued relics that make for fascinating interiors. Our shops and yards also provide the back drop for unique venue hire and dining experiences.

Need help?

Call +44 (0) 20 7394 2100 or select a location from the Contact Us menu above.